Equation Calculator

Hello I am Wonjohn Choi

Haven’t written any posts for a while. I was very busy for other stuff, but kept making programs when I was bored and when I was … bored.

As I am going to be a senior student in my school, I think time won’t allow me to make any more developer’s posts (that explains how I developed/programed a software), but I might still make softwares and put it to the download page.

Also, I decided to stop putting stupid information like:

  • Project Manager/Leader: Wonjohn Choi
  • Designer: Wonjohn Choi
  • Programmer: Wonjohn Choi
  • QA (Quality assurance): Wonjohn Choi

Unless specified, it is so obvious that who is doing what as I am the only member of G.Y.G.D!

But, still, I will put other general information.

This time I made a graphical interface calculator called “Equation Calculator” using Java, the programming language by Sun.

Different from the “Button Calculator,” this calculator computes an equation. For example, if user puts an equation “((1+2+3)*6/36)^30,” it will output 1. Although design is simpler, this calculator required much more logic than Button Calculator.

screenshot for equation calculator by Wonjohn Choi

screenshot for equation calculator by Wonjohn Choi

GUI: I used three “JTextField”s, three “JLabel”s, and two “JButton”s to represent the Graphic.

Logic: First convert infix equation given by user to postfix equation. Then, use postfix equation to evaluate the answer. If you are not familiar with postfix equation or related algorithm, I recommend you to check http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reverse_Polish_notation . I put some variations on it to allow using ‘^’ (power) and blanks.

Any Updates will be posted here and check downloads page to download the “Equation Calculator.”

About Wonjohn Choi
Hello, I am a software developer Wonjohn Choi. I live in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada and study at a school called St. Francis Xavier Secondary School. My core interests include Math, Computer Science, and Engineering. Thank you.

One Response to Equation Calculator

  1. Pingback: Q_Calc | Global Youth Game (Software) Developers

Leave a Reply

